My Twitter Feed

October 21, 2017

Archives:

14 Year Old Child Bride Facing Death Penalty for Murdering Husband -

Saturday, November 29, 2014

BREAKING: New Coal Disaster In West Virginia -

Tuesday, February 11, 2014

U.S. Hostage Freed by Colombia’s FARC Rebels (Video) -

Monday, October 28, 2013

Here’s Why The Zimmerman Verdict Matters -

Sunday, July 14, 2013

BREAKING! UK Government Spied On Allies At TWO G20 Summits (Video) -

Sunday, June 16, 2013

Swiss Support Tougher Asylum Legislation as Refugee Numbers Spike -

Monday, June 10, 2013

American Woman Killed in Syria Fighting for Terrorists, Syrian TV Claims (Video) -

Friday, May 31, 2013

CO2 in the Air Reached its Highest Level in Human History -

Friday, May 10, 2013

Terms of the New Abortion Bill Agreed by Irish Cabinet -

Wednesday, May 1, 2013

Boston In Lockdown As Manhunt Intensifies -

Friday, April 19, 2013

2 Dead, Dozens Injured After Boston Marathon Bombing -

Monday, April 15, 2013

Fast Food Workers in New York Stage Surprise Strike -

Saturday, April 6, 2013

N. Korean Rhetoric Provokes Missile Shield Deployment -

Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Eyewitness Accounts from Meiktila Massacre -

Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Sudan to Free All Political Prisoners -

Monday, April 1, 2013

A New Free Press In Burma Juxtaposed With Genocide: The World Will Be Watching -

Friday, March 29, 2013

Pressure Builds to End Ethnic Violence in Myanmar -

Friday, March 29, 2013

Activists Demand Action As Further Genocide Looms -

Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Cyprus Reaches Last-Minute Bailout Deal With EU -

Monday, March 25, 2013

Myanmar Muslims Brace for Possible Genocide -

Sunday, March 24, 2013

Book Review: Born to Run by Christopher McDouggal

Going the Distance

Rare is the book that gets its readers to take action. What is it about Christopher Mcdougall’s nonfiction book Born to Run that made me want to go for a jog after not running since my stint as a middle school sprinter? The book starts with the author’s doctor visit prompted by the common runner’s question, “Why does my foot hurt?”

In his search to uncover why our bodies are so suited to distance running, Mcdougall journeys to the Cooper Canyons of Mexico where he encounters the Tarahumara Indians. They (men, women, and children) are known for running barefoot and injury-free for extremely long distances. Their unlikely athletic success provides a jumping off point for the author to question all that modern medicine and our western mindset would have us believe makes sense when it comes to running ability.

book reviews, ultra-running, distance-runningThe author captures the eccentric personalities of many ultra-runners as he weaves in a wealth of researched information including why a human can outrun a horse or what is appealing about races like the Leadville Trail 100 Run. The book ends with a 100-mile race that takes place on the Tarahumara’s turf. Along the way, the reader senses that ultra-racing has more in common with the human spirit than the competitive spirit.

The mysterious figure of Caballo Blanco runs throughout the story as a representation of running’s real rewards. While most of us are not daring enough to drop-out of society and go where our bliss leads us, there is something to be said about uncovering the truths behind why running shoes do more harm to your feet than good,  as well as why an ultra-runner in their 60’s can still compete with runners 40 years younger, and why its one of the few sports where women compete equally with men.

I jog because I can. Does a person really need more reason?

Have you or would you read Born to Run? What’s your view on long-distance running?

JeriWB’s Rating: 4.25 Stars (“Really Liked It”)

For more insight, read my Book Review Criteria or visit the Review Request Page.

This review was originally posted on JeriWB: What do I know?

Jeri (9 Posts)

Jeri Walker-Bickett was born and raised in Wallace, Idaho, a rough and tumble mining town with a checkered past. The storytelling urge struck at a young age, but an undergraduate degree in writing led to a graduate degree in English education. Between living the scholarship-laden life of an academic bum, she did seasonal work in national parks. Jeri met her future husband in Yellowstone and they later married in Las Vegas. This phase in their lives sparked an obsession with food and travel. Fate has intervened to allow her to take time off from the classroom. Her forthcoming novel, Lost Girl Road, is a ghost story that takes place in the woods of northwest Montana. She currently lives in North Carolina with her husband and their pets.