My Twitter Feed

September 22, 2017

Archives:

14 Year Old Child Bride Facing Death Penalty for Murdering Husband -

Saturday, November 29, 2014

BREAKING: New Coal Disaster In West Virginia -

Tuesday, February 11, 2014

U.S. Hostage Freed by Colombia’s FARC Rebels (Video) -

Monday, October 28, 2013

Here’s Why The Zimmerman Verdict Matters -

Sunday, July 14, 2013

BREAKING! UK Government Spied On Allies At TWO G20 Summits (Video) -

Sunday, June 16, 2013

Swiss Support Tougher Asylum Legislation as Refugee Numbers Spike -

Monday, June 10, 2013

American Woman Killed in Syria Fighting for Terrorists, Syrian TV Claims (Video) -

Friday, May 31, 2013

CO2 in the Air Reached its Highest Level in Human History -

Friday, May 10, 2013

Terms of the New Abortion Bill Agreed by Irish Cabinet -

Wednesday, May 1, 2013

Boston In Lockdown As Manhunt Intensifies -

Friday, April 19, 2013

2 Dead, Dozens Injured After Boston Marathon Bombing -

Monday, April 15, 2013

Fast Food Workers in New York Stage Surprise Strike -

Saturday, April 6, 2013

N. Korean Rhetoric Provokes Missile Shield Deployment -

Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Eyewitness Accounts from Meiktila Massacre -

Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Sudan to Free All Political Prisoners -

Monday, April 1, 2013

A New Free Press In Burma Juxtaposed With Genocide: The World Will Be Watching -

Friday, March 29, 2013

Pressure Builds to End Ethnic Violence in Myanmar -

Friday, March 29, 2013

Activists Demand Action As Further Genocide Looms -

Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Cyprus Reaches Last-Minute Bailout Deal With EU -

Monday, March 25, 2013

Myanmar Muslims Brace for Possible Genocide -

Sunday, March 24, 2013

I Do not Want to Only Pray for the Victims of the Boston Marathon!

Major acts of violence are becoming too common in the U.S. And after each one, we hear the litanies of:

“Pray for the victims and their families.” Then, we expect the other statements about how brave the EMTs, policemen and common citizens were there and were heroes.

My prayer is “I do not want to hear this ever again! ”  Because, I don’t want to have more terrorist attacks or mass shootings which not only kill innocent people, but tear at the fragile fabric of society.

Saying, ‘Pray for the victims and families” is just not enough anymore. We must work vigilantly towards a more peaceful country and world.

The blasts that struck the Boston Marathon on Monday were shocking because we often think attacks like this usually happen in far-off, troubled places, not in the middle of a major American city. But, both developed and developing countries experience terrorist attacks which kill and injure innocent people.

For many who live in countries such as Iraq and Syria, violence remains troublingly common, an everyday occurrence.

The details are not known what were the motives and if it was domestic or international terrorism. Will this make a difference, even it is known? Will this mean more freedoms taken away, more investment in security, more blaming of the left or the right by political pundits and the anticipation that there will be another tragedy?

As we now are going through another tragic event, we should be adamant about how in our individual lives and in our collective action, we can make a difference in curtailing the violence.

Michael Andrew McAdams (20 Posts)